Search Anything Hockey ..


    30th edition of Country Championships comes to a close

    30th edition of Country Championships comes to a close

    Author: Mitch Wynd

    The curtain has come down on the 2019 Country Championships following a successful nine days of competition.

    Shepparton hosted the 30th edition of the championships, with this year’s competition also marking 20 years since they were last held in the regional Victorian centre.

    In a tightly fought competition in both the men’s and women’s, Queensland took home the gold medal in the women’s after defeating New South Wales in the final, while the men’s side saw a reversal with New South Wales coming out victorious and Queensland claiming silver. Victoria completed the podium with the bronze medal in both the men’s and women’s.

    The respective women’s and men’s Just Hockey Player of the Tournament awards both went to Queenslanders. Aimee Doevton was voted the best women’s player and Drew Wenzel named best in the men’s competition.

    The Country Championships featured six teams in both the women’s and men’s competitions – Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, and teams from the Australian Defence Force.
    Hockey Australia CEO Matt Favier, who attended the final day of competition, announced that next year’s Country Hockey Championships will be held in Albany, WA.

    Hockey Australia congratulates all of the teams and participants who took part, and reserves special thanks to the Greater Shepparton City Council and Goulburn Valley Hockey Association for their efforts in running the event.

    The annual Country Championships are proudly supported by principal partner The Australian Sports Commission, and naming rights partners Fortescue Metals Group and Ausdrill.

    Awards and Winners

    Women Gold Medal


    Men Gold Medal

    New South Wales

    Women Silver Medal

    New South Wales

    Men Silver Medal


    Women Bronze Medal


    Men Bronze Medal


    ASICS Leading Goal Scorer

    Women – Katie Wollstein (QLD)

    Men – John Fernance (NSW)

    Just Hockey Player of Tournament

    June Allen Women’s Award – Aimee Doveton (QLD)

    Mick Anderson Men’s Award – Drew Wenzel (QLD)

    Play the Whistle Award

    Women – Australian Defence Force and Western Australia

    Men – Australian Defence Force

    Gold Medal Women’s Umpires

    • Tracey Fowlie
    • Cortney Claridge
    • Reserve: Vanessa Ponza

    Gold Medal Men’s Umpires

    • Adrian Cross
    • Kristen Schenk
    • Reserve: Darcy Brown

    Bronze Medal Women’s Umpires

    • Jemay Staines
    • Emily Pritchard
    • Reserve: Samantha Giorlando

    Bronze Medal Men’s Umpires

    • Darcy Brown
    • Zak Payne
    • Reserve: Adrian Cross