Search Anything Hockey ..

    Australia's Largest Stick Range | Best Price Guarantee

    Strong U21 squad named for Sultan of Johor Cup

    Strong U21 squad named for Sultan of Johor Cup

    Author: Mitch Wynd

    Burras U21 Head Coach Ben Bishop has announced his team for the ninth edition of the Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia.

    Of the 18 players named in the squad, only Lachlan Busiko, Dylan Martin, Ehren Hazell and Daniel McBride have been involved previously in the annual international tournament, although McBride has yet to take the field having suffered an injury prior to the first match last year.

    “This year will be particularly exciting as we have 14 athletes who have been selected to tour Johor for the first time,” said Bishop.

    “As always the competition will be strong from the other nations and we look forward to building on our history of results at the event.”

    The team will attempt to win the Cup for a third time having won the tournament in 2016 and 2017. Australia sits alongside India and Great Britain as two-time winners.

    “We are very much looking forward to returning to Malaysia for the Sultan of Johor Cup in what will be our eighth appearance at the tournament,” said Bishop.

    “It is an extremely valuable tournament that we are lucky to be able to attend each year.

    “The competition, conditions and international travel opportunity all provide for a fantastic development experience for our emerging athletes.”

    The tournament will see the six competing nations play in a round robin format culminating in a day of play-offs to determine the final placings.

    The Australian team will depart for Malaysia on 7 October 2019 and open its campaign against Japan on Saturday 12 October 2019.

    Kookaburras U21 Men’s Squad – 2019 Sultan of Johor Cup



    Luca Brown


    Lachlan Busiko


    Patrick Coates


    James Collins


    Michael Francis


    Brinley Gallagher


    Dane Gavranich


    Sam Gray


    Anand Gupte


    Tom Harvie


    Ehren Hazell


    Aaron Knight


    Dylan Martin


    Daniel McBride


    Sam McCulloch


    Robbie MacLennan


    Daine Richards


    Christian Starkie


    Tournament Details

    2019 Sultan of Johor Cup

    12-19 October 2019

    Johor Bahru, Malaysia

    Australia matches

    Saturday 12 October 2019

    Australia v Japan (4:05pm local time)

    Sunday 13 October 2019

    Australia v Malaysia (8:35pm local time)

    Tuesday 15 October 2019

    Great Britain v Australia (4:05pm local time)

    Wednesday 16 October 2019

    India v Australia (4:05pm local time)

    Friday 18 October 2019

    Australia v New Zealand (8:35pm local time)

    Saturday 19 October 2019

    Play-off for all placings

    Australia’s history at the Sultan of Johor Cup

    2018 3rd place

    2017 Champions

    2016 Champions

    2015 5th place

    2014 3rd place

    2013 Did not compete

    2012 3rd place

    2011 Runner Up