Search Anything Hockey ..


    WA Gold & Victoria Crowned Under-15s Australian Champions

    WA Gold & Victoria Crowned Under-15’s Australian Champions

    WA Gold & Victoria Crowned Under-15’s Australian Champions

    Author: Ben Somerford

    Western Australia Gold and Victoria have taken out the Under-15’s Australian Championships boys’ and girls’ titles respectively after winning Sunday’s grand finals at the Macarthur Regional Hockey Complex in Narellan.

    WA Gold edged past hosts New South Wales State 2-1 in a thrilling decider, with Brodie Hiskins scoring a 58th minute winner, after Tyler McCann had equalised five minutes earlier.

    In the girls’ gold medal match, Victoria got past WA Gold in the dreaded shootout, winning 5-4 after a goalless draw, with Shauna Mitchell converting the decisive attempt in sudden death.

    In a dramatic shootout both sides converted three attempts before going to sudden death, although WA Gold missed a chance to claim the gold medal with their final attempt as Victoria keeper Dominique Blatherwick denied captain Caitlin Mundy.

    Jemma Ryan, Elyssa Melville, Eliza O’Neil and Maddison Fenwick traded shootout goals for both sides, before Mitchell scored for Victoria and Blatherwick thwarted Jaya Scafidi to secure the victory.

    In the boys’ decider, Hiskins’ late winner came after an entertaining contest, where WA Gold took a 24th minute lead thanks to Samuel Le Dain.

    WA Gold held on to that lead until McCann levelled for the hosts in the 53rd minute, with the match appearing destined for a shootout too, until Hiskins’ dramatic intervention.

    Meanwhile, NSW State claimed the girls’ bronze medal with a 2-0 victory over Queensland Maroon, while Queensland Maroon got past South Australia 2-1 in the boys’ bronze medal match.

    Queensland Maroon’s Bailey Charlesworth finished as the boys’ top scorer with nine goals.

    Tasmania’s Maddison Brooks, who also won the girls’ Player of the Championships, finished female top scorer with eight goals.

    WA and NT shared the girls' Play The Whistle award, while NSW claimed the boys' Play The Whistle award.

    All results and match information is available on Hockey Australia’s Twitter page along with

    Hockey Australia once again thanks Destination NSW and Hockey NSW for their support in making this event possible as well as Metropolitan South West Hockey and the Camden Council.