Search Anything Hockey ..


    Australias Mens National Development Squad selected for 2020

    Australia’s Men’s National Development Squad selected for 2020

    Author: Nic Kerber

    The list of athletes that will make up Australia’s Men’s Hockey National Development Squad for the next 12 months has been announced.

    The Men’s National Development Squad comprises athletes on the verge of breaking into the national senior program, with an eye to being selected for the Kookaburras at the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games, 2023 World Cup in India and Paris Olympics in 2024.

    All 19 athletes selected in the 2020 Men’s National Development Squad competed in the recent inaugural Sultana Bran Hockey One League.

    Kookaburras Head Coach Colin Batch said the athletes’ performances in the new reinvigorated domestic competition played a significant role in their selections, and he has been impressed with the level of the players who are knocking on the door.

    “There is really good depth in Australian men’s hockey at the moment and the athletes that have been selected have proven they have the quality to be in the mix for the Kookaburras,” said Batch.

    “The coaching staff and High Performance department see this group of athletes as integral in driving the Kookaburras to ongoing improvement and success, and being selected in this squad clearly sends the message that they are very much in contention.

    “Nathan (Ephraums) and Kurt (Lovett) were both part of the National Development Squad this year and forced their way into the senior Kookaburras squad, so I look forward to monitoring the development of all the players on our radar.”

    As part of the National Development Squad, athletes will continue to train in their home daily training environment with their National Training Centre (NTC) programs, under the guidance of the national program coaches.

    The National Development Squad features six players from the Sultana Bran Hockey One League’s undefeated NSW Pride team, including capped Kookaburra Jack Hayes.

    Lachlan Busiko is the sole athlete from South Australia in the squad and Hayden Beltz, the brother of Kookaburra Josh Beltz, is the only player from Tasmania.

    In addition, throughout the year these athletes may be invited to train with the senior Kookaburras squad in Perth as part of a Visitor Athlete Agreement and be involved in training and match environments that are above their current level of competition.

    2020 Men’s National Development Squad
    Name, State, Hockey One Team

    Kiran Arunasalam, VIC, HC Melbourne
    Hayden Beltz, TAS, Tassie Tigers
    Lachlan Busiko, SA, Adelaide Fire
    James Day, ACT, Canberra Chill
    Hayden Dillon, NSW, NSW Pride
    Matthew Finn, QLD, Brisbane Blaze
    Liam Flynn, WA, Perth Thundersticks
    Jack Hayes, NSW, NSW Pride
    Max Hendry, VIC, HC Melbourne
    Dylan Martin, NSW, NSW Pride
    Hugh Pembroke, QLD, Brisbane Blaze
    Ryan Proctor, NSW, NSW Pride
    Jayshaan Randhawa, VIC, HC Melbourne
    Joel Rintala, QLD, Brisbane Blaze
    Jake Sherren, VIC, HC Melbourne
    Ben Staines, ACT, Canberra Chill
    Nathanael Stewart, NSW, NSW Pride
    Ash Thomas, NSW, NSW Pride
    Blake Wotherspoon, QLD, Brisbane Blaze